Creighton University
battalion logo

BLACKWOLVES BATTALION

(402) 280-1154

armyrotc@creighton.edu

St John's Parish is located in the center of the Creighton Campus. The corner stone was laid down in 1887.

War Department Bulletin Number 2, dated 27 January 1919, established the Army Reserve Officer Training Corps at Creighton University. Under the direction of Major Corbett S. Hoffman, the University's first Professor of Military Science and Tactics, 136 young men enrolled in the ROTC program. Members of the graduating class of 1922 were the first to receive their commissions as second lieutenants. Since that year, over 2,000 young men and women have received their commission at Creighton University.

The General Military Science Program of Instruction, introduced by the Department of the Army in 1952, replaced Creighton's Infantry Branch program and was integrated into the University's curriculum during the school year of 1954. In 1960, the modified, or "academic substitution," curriculum for Advanced ROTC was approved and adopted. In 1971-62, the modified curriculum was incorporated into the First Year Basic ROTC program. In 1969, the Basic program became voluntary, rather than a mandatory part of the University curriculum.

In 1982, the Creighton University Bluejay Battalion split into two separate battalions with the addition of the Maverick Battalion at the University of Nebraska in Omaha. However, in 1985, the battalions reunified under the name Blackwolves Battalion, after the black wolves depicted on the family coat-of-arms of St. Ignatius Loyola, founder of the Society of Jesus.

Creighton University's Army ROTC program boasts a Medal of Honor recipient, and several general officers, congressman, and other governmental, business and professional leaders among its