U.S. Army - Pro Football Hall of Fame Award for Excellence

Launched in January 2012, The U.S. Army - Pro Football Hall of Fame - Award
for Excellence Program seeks to highlight the nation's top sophomore, junior
and senior high school athletes who exemplify similar strengths to that of
United States Army Soldiers, and who not only excel athletically, but who
also excel academically and are active in their communities.

"The Army is proud to honor this group of outstanding student-athletes, with
the Pro Football Hall of Fame, as the 2018 Award for Excellence finalists,"
said Elizabeth Wilson, deputy assistant secretary of the Army (marketing).

"Like Army Soldiers, these students have shown not only a relentless drive
to succeed for themselves, their families and their schools, but also to
serve. The Army congratulates the finalists on this distinction, as well as
those who have helped them to achieve their goals."

The 25 finalists for the Award for Excellence will be recognized during
formal ceremonies at their respective high schools this spring. The
student-athletes will receive their finalist plaque from a Pro Football Hall
of Famer during their individual events.


  • Justin Arnold, Cinnaminson (N.J.) High School
  • Sophie Bernstein, Clayton High School (St. Louis, Mo.)
  • Malori Brown, China Spring (Texas) High School
  • McKenzie Castro, Gilmer (Texas) High School
  • John Cogbill, Fort Campbell (Ky.) High School
  • Benjamin Dwyer, Charles W. Baker High School (Baldwinsville, N.Y.)
  • Jackson Engel, Palacios (Texas) High School
  • Dylan Francis, Colleyville Heritage High School (Colleyville, Texas)
  • Phoenix Hanks, Medical Lake (Wash.) High School
  • Nicholas Iannone, Benedictine Military School (Savannah, Ga.)
  • N'Jhari Jackson, Carrollwood Day School (Tampa, Fla.)
  • Lauren Jacobsen, Wisner-Pilger High School (Wisner, Neb.)
  • Claire Jones, Abraham Lincoln High School (Council Bluffs, Iowa)
  • Nathan LeRoy, Sturgeon Bay (Wisc.) High School
  • Sarah Katherine Lewis, Columbia High School (Lake City, Fla.)
  • Ryder Meyer, Fairfield (Mont.) High School
  • Taylor Morin, Westfield High School (Chantilly, Va.)
  • Dalton Mullins, Central High School (Norton, Va.)
  • Jessen Pratt, Silo High School (Durant, Ok.)
  • Justin Rodgers, A.L. Brown High School (Kannapolis, N.C.)
  • Kloee Sander, Pius X High School (Lincoln, Neb.)
  • Jacob Smith, Brooks DeBartolo Collegiate High School (Tampa, Fla.)
  • Brooke Sudduth, Cascade High School (Wartrace, Tenn.)
  • Dominic Velasquez, Western Reserve High School (Berlin Center, Ohio)
  • Benjamin Wilhelm, Thomas County Central High School (Thomasville, Ga.)

Previous Award for Excellence Winners

2012: Nate Lowis - Springfield, IL (Sacred-Heart Griffin High School)
2013: Andrew Way - Hebron, KY (Conner High School)
2015: Courtney Cecere - Sidman, PA (Forest Hills High School)
2016: Ariana Luterman - Addison, TX (Greenhill High School)
2017: Emily Scott - Elizabethtown, NC (East Bladen High School)


U.S. Army Pro Football Hall of Fame Award for Excellence